New Hampshire Scholars is a community-based program that encourages students to take a more rigorous Core Course of Study in high school. It is based on a partnership between a community’s local business leaders and its school district. New Hampshire Scholars is federally-funded through the New Hampshire Department of Education.

New Hampshire Scholars is coordinated through a partnership between the New Hampshire College and University Council, Campus Compact for New Hampshire and the New Hampshire Department of Education. New Hampshire Scholars is part of the National State Scholars Initiative Network. Twenty-five states across the country participate in this national initiative.

In an effort to increase visibility to the initiative and encourage other key constituents to engage in this statewide effort, we have developed a Leadership Board to provide oversight regarding the initiative’s sustainability plan. These leaders advise strategies to appropriately align NH Scholars with higher education and business community expectations. Membership includes K-12, Higher Education, community and public policy.

  • Chair, Senator Lou D’Allesandro, District 20, Vice Chair, Senate Ways & Means Committee
  • Amanda Grappone Osmer, CEO, Grappone Automotive
  • Brennan Barnard, Director, College Counseling, The Derryfield School
  • Chris Hodgdon, Vice President, Government Affairs, Comcast
  • Dave Juvet, Sr. Vice-President, NH Business & Industry Association
  • David Cuzzi, President, Prospect Hill Strategies
  • Deborah Scire, Executive Director, Campus Compact for NH
  • Dr. Ed MacKay, Director, Higher Education Commission, NH Dept. of Education 
  • Dr. Patty Lynott, Executive VP & University College Provost, Southern New Hampshire University
  • Dr. Susan Huard, President, Manchester Community College
  • Dr. Tom Horgan, President/CEO, NH College & University Council
  • Dr. Virginia Barry, Commissioner, New Hampshire Department of Education
  • Fred Kocher, President, Kocher & Company
  • Heather Gage, Chief of Staff, NH Department of Education
  • Holly Vieten, Past-President, NH School Counselor Association (Inter-Lakes High School)
  • Kate Luczko, President/CEO, Stay Work Play New Hampshire
  • Lucille Jordan, President, Nashua Community College
  • Marjorie Chiafery, Superintendent, Merrimack School District
  • Mark Lambert, Director, Government Affairs, Unitil
  • Matt Cookson, Executive Director, NH High Tech Council & President, Cookson Strategies Corp.
  • Matt Pierson, Owner/Founder, 10X Venture Partners
  • Michael L’Ecuyer, President/CEO, Bellwether Community Credit Union
  • Peter Weaver, Principal, Spaulding High School
  • Phil Suter, President/CEO, Greater Keene Chamber of Commerce
  • Representative Mary Gile, District 27, House Education Committee
  • Scott Power, Director, New Hampshire Scholars Initiative (NHCUC)
  • Scott Spradling, President, The Spradling Group
  • Senator Dan Feltes, District 15, Ways & Means Committee
  • Senator Regina Birdsell, District 19, Chair, Senate Public & Municipal Affairs Committee
  • Tom Raffio, President/CEO, Northeast Delta Dental and Chair, State Board of Education